myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums

Joining system and user resource queries

rastagusta

• Total Posts : 3
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 0
Joining system and user resource queries Thursday, June 05, 2008 1:53 PM (permalink)
Hi,
Im pretty much a newbie here. Anyway, id just need to know if its possible to join 2 queries. 1 for system resource whereby i need the info for Computer Name, SMS Advanced Client status etc. I also need the user OU name in my same query but this can only be done using User Resource. Is there a way to merge both these queries into 1 so that i can retrieve the relevant data for roll-outs. Currently if i choose User Resource, there is no option to add system resource and thus cant complete a relevant query ?.....Can this be done ?....If yes, pls help urgently !...Thanks

skissinger

• Total Posts : 4922
    • Scores: 472
    • Reward points : 135220
    RE: Joining system and user resource queries Thursday, June 05, 2008 4:49 PM (permalink)
    Sort of.  You could try for join statements the following.  Keeping in mind that sometimes the data in "Last Known user" in the v_r_system table may not be accurate 100% of the time. 

select sys.netbios_name0, USR.User_Name0, USR.Directory_Location0
    from v_r_system as SYS
    left join v_r_user as USR on sys.User_Name0 = USR.User_Name0

If you're on SP3, and if you've enabled ConsoleUser stuff; you might also be able to try

select sys.netbios_name0, USR.User_Name0, USR.Directory_Location0
    from v_r_system as SYS
    join v_gs_system_console_user as SUSR on sys.resourceID = SUSR.ResourceID
    join v_r_user as USR on SUSR.TopConsoleUser0 = USR.User_Name0

NOTE: I didn't actually test either of these... they might be junk. (probably are)
    mofmaster@myitforum.com
    My Blog
    Microsoft MVP - ConfigMgr

jnelson993

• Total Posts : 931
      • Scores: 159
      • Reward points : 8850
      RE: Joining system and user resource queries Thursday, June 05, 2008 4:59 PM (permalink)