myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums

Network Adapter not installed, trying to OSD Lenovo x240

P3nnyw1se

• Total Posts : 1
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 100
Network Adapter not installed, trying to OSD Lenovo x240 Thursday, January 16, 2014 7:53 PM (permalink)
 <-- why can't I remove this :)[/style]

Hey Guys I've been at this issue for 3 days.
And I'm running short on ideas.
Enviroment: Windows Server 2012, SCCM 2012 SP1, CU3.

Prelogue
I'm fairly new with SCCM, I spend the last 3 months learning it, creating task sequences, installing applications, distributing and deploying.
A few weeks ago I started OSD'ing computers with a Windows 7 x64 Enterprise.
Lenovo T61, T500, T520, X230 and HP 8300, which is now running smoothly.
3 days ago we got a badge of Lenovo X240, and thats where my troubles begin.

Problem: When the Lenovo X240 enters the Windows PE, it will reboot right after saying 'preparing network connections

Initial thought: Everything I can find online points toward a driver issue in the boot image.
Important to remember: this very same task sequence, boot.wim etc. works on all these other models, I've tested that every single day.

What I have tried/confirmed, without luck:
- I've injected the driver "IntelĀ® Ethernet Connection I217-LM/I218-LM " from both Lenovo's and Intels website, into the boot image.
- I tried the win 7 x64 version, and the win 8 and win 8.1 version which is the same one, I've tried them all at one and seperately
- I make sure that when I Update Distribution Point with newly injected drivers that I select the correct 'content' the new boot.wim
- using a command prompt before it reboots I've:
      A: Confirmed with 'ipconfig' no adapter is installed
      B: Browsed to Windows\System32 and confirmed the driver I injected into the boot image is actually there.
- I've made sure the Windows PE is using the correct boot.wim which is a Windows 8, x64