myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums

Conditional Windows Software Update

tom2139

• Total Posts : 3
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 220
Conditional Windows Software Update Wednesday, June 04, 2014 1:40 PM (permalink)
Hi,

I'm a newbie in Sccm an general in Windows administration...

Is there a possibility in SCCM 2012, to deploy Windows Software Updates only to members of a collection which are in a certain state, for example a simple text file containing a value or not?
Text file contains 1: Updates will be deployed and installed
Text file contains 0: Updates won't be installed at the moment

And could someone tell me how to Install Software Updates via a TS?
I have to deploy the software updates as available, right? And then deploy the TS with the step Install Software Updates?

skissinger

• Total Posts : 4939
    • Scores: 473
    • Reward points : 137820
    Re:Conditional Windows Software Update Thursday, June 05, 2014 10:59 AM (permalink)
    anything could be scripted... that said, what exactly is the end goal?
    I'm hoping that some of the built-in features of CM, like Service Windows, would be a better fit for whatever it is your final goal happens to be. 
    To me, you wanting to "do something" based on a text file means that some human is putting that text file there.  Seems high-maintenance to me.  I would hope that with a little planning, you could instead plan on what boxes should be in what Service Windows and allow (for example) the boxes on the East Coast can be patched on Saturday, and the boxes on the West Coast can be patched on Sunday.
    mofmaster@myitforum.com
    My Blog
    Microsoft MVP - ConfigMgr

donmcgowen

• Total Posts : 2
      • Scores: 0
      • Reward points : 220
      Re:Conditional Windows Software Update Friday, June 06, 2014 10:30 AM (permalink)