myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums

Installing a SEPM replication server

simon

• Total Posts : 20
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 21280
Installing a SEPM replication server Wednesday, November 05, 2014 2:19 AM (permalink)
Dear All,
I have been running SEPM with one replication server for 2 years on windows 2008R2 with no issues. i have also upgraded to SEPM version 12.1.4a currently working with no issues. now I need to move my replication server to a new server. the primary will not be touched
since its in production i best thought of setting up a new replication server,  and i would latter remove the currrent replication server from the management console so followed the below steps

Install SEPM on a new server with new IP
then i start the management server configuration wizard
then at the last screen attached herein i see preparing database then initializing database , the database is being created and initialized and replicating database and after some few minutes i get an error

Unable to connect to the server specified..
i am able to telnet to the specified port that is 8443 firewall on both machines is off

appreciate your help and advice

regards

simon

Attached Image(s)

awenlock

• Total Posts : 305
    • Scores: 196
    • Reward points : 35460
    Re:Installing a SEPM replication server Thursday, November 06, 2014 8:08 PM (permalink)
    Hi,

The error you are seeing is coming up when you are putting in the database details.  When you are going through the wizard are you setting this new server up as a replication server, ie an additional server for your site?  Usually the database would install on your new server as well and then replicate with your primary?

Are you seeing any errors in the event log?  If you can detail what you are doing with the initial steps in the wizard I'm sure we can get you up and running :)

Regards
    Alan

simon

Re:Installing a SEPM replication server Sunday, November 09, 2014 1:25 AM (permalink)
      hi alan,