myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums

SSRS Help - Sort Chart Results by Month

badk4life

• Total Posts : 20
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 1100
SSRS Help - Sort Chart Results by Month Thursday, March 02, 2017 4:06 PM (permalink)
This might be an easy one for the SSRS experts. 

I have a simple chart that is returning the results of my monthly patch deploys. Problem is if I sort it alphabetically it shorts by the name of the month and that's not what I'm looking for. What I need is to sort by date Example: November 2016, December 2016, January 2017, February 2017, March 2017, etc.... left to right. That would be easy if I could setup an expression to sort it by Month according to a calendar year and the field was an actual date and not a variable loaded into the chart. But its getting the data from the SCCM collectionid name. See screen shot below. Sorry if my lingo is a bit off I'm new to SSRS.

Below is the Query for DataSet1. As you can see it pulls in the collectionid which is named "Patch Tuesday - August 2016" or "Patch Tuesday - January 2017" etc. I'm guessing the "order by 1" at the very end is my sort option?

select
count(*) [Total Clients], li.title,coll.name,
SUM (CASE WHEN ucs.status=3 or ucs.status=1  then 1 ELSE 0 END ) as 'Installed / Not Applicable',
sum( case When ucs.status=2 Then 1 ELSE 0 END ) as 'Required',
sum( case When ucs.status=0 Then 1 ELSE 0 END ) as 'Unknown',
round((CAST(SUM (CASE WHEN ucs.status=3 or ucs.status=1 THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) as float)/count(*) )*100,2) as 'Success %', round((CAST(count(case when ucs.status not in('3','1') THEN '*' end) as float)/count(*))*100,2) as 'Not Success%'
From v_Update_ComplianceStatusAll UCS
inner join v_r_system sys on ucs.resourceid=sys.resourceid
inner join v_FullCollectionMembership fcm on ucs.resourceid=fcm.resourceid
inner join v_collection coll on coll.collectionid=fcm.collectionid
inner join v_AuthListInfo LI on ucs.ci_id=li.ci_id
where coll.CollectionID=@collname