myITforum and Windows IT Pro Forums
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

*srvpgm P1 needs to bind with P2, but P2 also needs to bind to P1. Chicken/egg problem.

xrunner

• Total Posts : 8
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points : 1510
*srvpgm P1 needs to bind with P2, but P2 also needs to bind to P1. Chicken/egg problem. Thursday, April 06, 2017 5:46 PM (permalink)

I've tried writing this post a couple of times because I'm attempting to ask the question without getting buried in details. If I'm not making any sense, please ask for clarification.
Intro:
I'm a seasoned i5 developer, but my employers have never encouraged *srvpgm coding. I've read Scott's articles, presentations from Barbara Morris and presentations from Susan Ganter, but as soon as I stepped out to real life I'm running into questions.

Initially I created my modules and then created the *srvpgms by statically binding the modules.

Problem:
I'm wanting to take the next step and use *bnddir instead of binding modules.

I have several procedures in module M1 and several more in module M2. I have my prototype copybooks for each and am using them to create the modules. The modules create fine.

When I try to create *srvpgm P1 the system complains that the *srvpgms from the *bnddir aren't found and that definitions aren't found for symbols. That makes sense since the dependent *srvpgm doesn't exit.

My question is more a best practice question.

Is it better to have multiple levels of service programs? Do I need to create P1 with no references to P2, P2 with no references to P1 and then new P1.2 and P2.2 programs that use procedures across 'classes'? I was hoping to have one program per 'class'.

zombiehorde

• Total Posts : 3
    • Reward points : 570
    Re:*srvpgm P1 needs to bind with P2, but P2 also needs to bind to P1. Chicken/egg problem. Thursday, April 06, 2017 6:00 PM (permalink)